August 15, 2002

  • Takadanobaba Suwa Shrine Festival 8/2002

    These are a few pictures of the drummers in the small local shrine festival parade that took place in our old Shinjuku neighborhood. The drummers were even nice enough to pose for me this year.  I wish that the picture with the drummers down on the pavement could have been taken from a better (lower) angle, but I was not brave enough to roll on the pavement for a good picture.  The drums are beaten by a pair, one of which lays on the ground while the other one beats him. 

    DrummersBestCrop640

    DrummersDance640

    DrummersDown640

    DrummersPose640 

Comments (2)

  • These good looking gentlemen seem to be havig a wonderful time.  Thanks for sharing/

  • @Gramcface - Actually these are all a blast from the past.  As you may remember I used to send pictures out in emails to all and sundry before I started blogging.  Many on Xanga have not seen these yet, so I am putting them up.  Xanga is letting us move stuff into the past now, so after these have been up for a bit I will move them back to 2002 where they belong.  I am making links to the old stuff under "past events."  Scroll down the page a bit and you will see Past Events on the left.  You can look at anything by clicking on the title.

Comments are closed.

Post a Comment