July 6, 2008

  • Weekly Photo Challenge - Balls

    If you want to see pictures of a festival involving balls check out Hakata's Tamaseseri Festival here.

    MedamaOyaji700

    Not my pic, but I had to include him - Uncle Eyeball from the Kitarou cartoon.

    DSC01019SpanielBall800

    Not my dog - snapped a picture of this little fatty in a local park.

    YoyoGuys (2) edited

    These guys are selling water balloons on rubber bands as summer toys.  This was taken at Sensouji Temple a few years back at a Ground Cherry Market, I think.

    Yoyo

    I liked the bright colors. 

    Superballs

    Above please see a mass of superballs floating in the water.  This is also common festival fare.

    Suwa Superpic

    Children buy a tissue paper scooper and are free to scoop out as many superballs as they can before the paper tears.  Taken at Suwa Shrine in Takadanobaba, Tokyo.

    002TeMari700

    These are "temari" - decorative balls made by winding thread.

    DSC07946

    A great ball of fire in the sky - fireworks are a challenge to photograph!

    Rooboy

    Maybe I had better not make any comments about this, but I thought it might make a nice furry Christmas tree bauble.  Haha!

Comments (26)

Comments are closed.

Post a Comment