July 14, 2008

  • Yamakasa 7/13/2008 #2

    Today is a short parade of the floats.  Fukuoka is actually two cities that have merged, Fukuoka and Hakata.  The Hakatian part of the city is where most of the Yamakasa activity takes place.  Today the Hakatians all gather and carry their floats over a bridge to the Fukuokan side of town.  It is not a race, just a symbolic display for the Fukuokians.

    DSC03582 800

    Yep, they have been carrying on with the tradition for a long time!  Why does this gent's camera crack me up?  No puns intended whatsoever...  really.

    DSC03587 800

    Wait until the signal is given to march

    DSC03594 800

    Older ones teach the youngsters.  Here is an interesting variation on the costume.  Are the leg bands for support or for pockets?  I saw a cigarette box shaped lump on one leg.

    DSC03596 800

    And the signal has been given to move out!

    DSC03598 800

    They start getting everyone involved from the cradle!

    DSC03601 800

    Daddy holds son's hand, brother holds brother's

    DSC03602 800

    Everybody gets into the act

    DSC03603 800

    With Daddy and Grandpa?

    DSC03604 800

    A Float Approaches

    DSC03605 800

    Everyone is looking hot and tired.  There are tubs of water lining the parade route for those who want to dump some on their heads.

     

    DSC03607 800

    Here comes the next group, everyone stand back.  Hey, is that a TV camera?

    DSC03611 800

    The guy in the foreground has a red headband.  That means he is on the traffic control committee.  I think the ropes are wet and used to help one hang onto the poles by which the floats are carried.

    DSC03613 800

    Hey, did this guy get smacked on the cheek or something?

    DSC03614 800

    There are six riders on the float today, three in front and three in back.

    DSC03615 800

    DSC03616 800

    DSC03618 800

    This water boy had an interesting obi belt.  What is the design?  Let's zoom in for a closer look.

    DSC03619 800

    Hey, this is Yamakasa, too!

    DSC03620 800

    The next herd thunders in...

    DSC03627 800

    At this point we moved further up the street in hopes of getting to City Hall to see all of the floats lined up.  I don't have a front position on the street anymore, so I am just shooting over my head and hoping for the best.

    DSC03628 800 

    Not too, bad, considering that I am not using the view finder.

    DSC03629 800

    Pht0807131607 800

    Hub took a picture of me taking pictures with his phonecam.  I am the one under the 7/1...  Hub says I have a habit of positioning myself by telephone poles.

    The real, final race takes place tomorrow, July 15 and starts at 5AM.  Your reporter will be there to bring you more of what you didn't want to see.

Comments (5)

  • The frontal pics aren't so bad...but all of those butts....Yikes! The little boy with his father and grandfather is cute!

  • Yep, traditional workingmens' garb.  I thought some of this morning's runners had tied their "shimekomi" a bit too low in the back.

  • This is so fascinating - thanks for sharing - I would never, ever have known anything about such an interesting tradition.

  • @Sweetkeys54 - I neither condone nor condemn, just document.  I will try to have other past pictures up little by little now that xanga is letting us put entries in the past.  It used to be that we could only move things up the current day.  Well, I try not to be boring.  Haha!  I just try to make the viewer feel as if he or she went to the event with me.  I think the entire city must be relieved that this event is over until next year, as it takes up an awful lot of energy behind the scenes with all of the organizational meetings, shrine business and post practice drinking bouts.  I don't know how long we will be away from home in Tokyo, so we are trying to see as much as we can while we are here.  Thanks for stopping by!!!

Comments are closed.

Post a Comment