February 22, 2009

  • Leonard Fujita Exhibition

    Today's "go somewhere" was to the Fukuoka Art Museum to see an exhibition of the works of artist Leonard Fujita (1886-1968), a Japanese artist who adopted France as his new homeland.  He converted to Christianity near the end of his life because he felt that neither Shinto nor Buddhism really provided any satisfactory answers to what happens after death.

    foujita

    Here is the man, and here is how his atelier looked.  He even designed a chapel in France.

    Foujita petite

    I wanted to get a catalogue of the exhibition, but as hubby said, I will probably never look at it.  I might make another trip to the museum alone and pick up a clandestine copy if I find myself experiencing too serious a case of shopper's regret.

Comments (5)

Comments are closed.

Post a Comment