July 14, 2010

  • July 15, 2010 Yamakasa Finale

    This is a video of the actual Yamakasa race.  The other two days I concentrated on photos, but I decided to do the actual race in video.  This is a series of seven videos that I combined into one for your viewing convenience.  This was my first successful attempt at editing videos.  This race takes place at 6:00 am, and is over by about 7:00am.  I got up at around 4:30 and rode my bike in the dark from where we lived in Nishijin to downtown Fukuoka to get these videos.  I forget which team won the race! (^-^)

    The sun is not up yet, but I am!

    It's getting a bit lighter, and the police are out to direct traffic and maintain safety.

    And the race is on!

    Afterwards everyone takes the floats back to their respective parts of the city. 

    Daddy is telling his son to man up and stop whining about being cold.

Post a Comment