July 17, 2010

  • July 18, 2010 Nagasaki OuraTenshudo

         

    This is my favorite place in Nagasaki, Oura Tenshudo, or Oura Cathedral.  It was built in the mid 1800's.  I had been here a couple of times before, but did not mind going back.  Dotter may have been here before on a school trip.

    I don't know why a cat had to run across Dotter's picture.

    A scenic spot on the side of the cathedral.

    The famous Catholic author Endo Shusaku stood on this very spot!

       

    You have to go in the morning to catch the light shining in the stained glass windows.  I have never seen such beautiful light.

       

       

    I am sneaking pictures here because we are not supposed to take pictures inside.

    I am taking this from outside a window, so technically I am ok.

    The building to the left is an old Catholic seminary building.  It now serves as a small museum and gift shop.

    DH outside the seminary.

    I like this building down to (up to?) the roof tiles!

Post a Comment