June 18, 2015

  • Gotta try this Red Hamburger! and Stravinski... and Tetsie RIP.

    red_burger

    Burger King is set to debut a red burger, called the “Aka Burger,” in Japan this year. The restaurant has previously released a black-colored burger. “Aka” translates to red and will come in a cheeseburger and chicken version, made with Aka Samurai Beef and Aka Samurai Chicken. The burgers will be served on red buns with red cheese and red tomatoes.” They will also include a chili pepper and paste sauce that they are calling, “angry sauce.” The red coloring in the buns comes from a tomato powder they are inserting into them. The “Aka Burger” is set to hit Burger King’s locations in Japan on July 3 and those visiting can buy the burger for $5.57 and the chicken version for $4.36.

    Also - I am studying up a bit for the all Stravinsky concert this weekend. Petrouchka, the Rites of Spring and the Firebird. The Rites of Spring I can do without, but Firebird will make up for it. I was not familiar with Petrouchka, so I had a look at the ballet on You Tube. I think I am ready.

    Petrouchka

    Perhaps the Rites of Spring were actually the Riots of Spring... Comments from Brudder John: It's really funny to learn that there were many subsequent performances in the same theater in the days following when there was no such reaction. It's also interesting that all of the dance movement can be counted out in 8s, despite all the meter changes! Stravinsky said that he and Diaghilev were forced to escape to an alley through a men's room window. The scandal made Stravinsky's reputation as a modernist leader all the way until his death in 1971.

    Riots

    I finally got Tetsie the former parakeet out of the freezer and formally interred beneath some rooted cuts of ivy. He was still so pretty. Mortality sucks. I mentioned that I had gotten "that" out of my freezer and one commenter guessed Unko and another Inko (poop and parakeet). Well actually both were right, as I was to have a medical check-up the following Monday and I had to take a stool sample.

    Mara Galeazzi in her role as The Firebird