February 5, 2016

  • James Galway Concert

    Sir James, your stage awaits!

    CIMG1673edit

     

    Galway Program

    CIMG1675edit

    CIMG1676edit

    The Sir James Galway concert was of course enjoyable, and afterward the three performers were signing autographs for a veeeeerry long line of people! Girls who had brought their flute cases were having them signed by none other than Sir James, and I was totally kicking myself for not having brought mine. Dern, dern and double dern!!! Who knows when I will get another chance, ever?? Well, I was lucky enough to have my program signed and will probably put it in a frame. Maybe that is better than having a case signed anyway. Sir James played "Concertino" by Chaminade, and another lady in the line and I agreed that it sounded like a completely different piece than the version that we practice. I had brought my opera glasses with me, and from the second row I could see that he was using his trill key to go C to D in a fast passage. That is a cheat, but if Galway does it, it must be all right!