January 2, 2003

  • Hamarikyu 1/2003

    These were taken on January 3, 2003 in a Tokyo Garden called Hamarikyu.  As you can see, the weather conditions were a bit different from the day before when we had a clear view of Mt.  We sometimes get a bit of snow, but nothing like I am used to in Schenectady.  When I first came to Japan I was a bit surprised to see people using umbrellas in the snow as we and never done that in Upstate New York.  But as Tokyo snow is rather soggy, I soon learned that it is a good idea.

    001Bow700

    For the last couple of years we have gone to Hamarikyu Garden to see a hawking demonstration.  I am not sure how long this annual demonstration has been going on, but it is quite interesting.  I hope that none of you hold an active membership in PETA...

    The show begins with a bow, and first demonstrated is how the birds fly from trainer to trainer.  The trainers call the bird with a whistle or with wooden clappers, and they will usually come for food, something like big parakeets.  CHIRP!

    003BirdGuy700

    005Launch700

    008Landing700

    After the demonstration of how the birds fly from trainer to trainer, we are shown what the hawks do best, hunt.    A live squab is spun around on a string and released....  and the hawk gets his just desserts.  Some of the pictures may be mercifully grainy since they have been enlarged and cropped.  Perhaps this is for the best, as one would perhaps not enjoy too clear a view.  I wonder if this kind of thing happens in the wild?

    023PigeonString700

    024PigeonFarewell700

    025PigeonCaught700

    After the demonstration, we are allowed to see the birds up close.  The hunter is still enjoying his repast.

    030HawkGuyUp700

     034Spoils700

    041HawkGuyUp700

    I hope that everyone is still speaking to me after the hunting scene!

    078TeahouseSkyscrapers700

    Another shot from Hamarikyu Gardens that really shows the contrast between old and new.  Opinions, please...  I could not get everything into the lens. Should I have concentrated on the actual buildings or on the reflection?

    EdoHawkGuy700
    By coincidence I ran across this framed picture of a fowler of old at an antique market.

    048PigeonRow700

    One more picture to let all know that there is still an abundance of pigeons in Tokyo!

    050SnowTacoKite700

    These are more pictures from January 3, and the location is still Hamarikyu Garden.  The hawks were not the only things in the air that day.  New Year's is also a traditional time for kite flying, and these gentlemen were determined to do it even if the weather was less than cooperative.

    054LaunchAttempt700

    055TacoTonda700

    069BunnyKiteLarge700

    Here are some pictures of yesterday's kites.  The members of the Kite Association were very nice about posing with their opi.  I especially liked these kites for their rabbity designs.  The Kite Association also puts out a nice line of clothing!  The emblem on the jacket is another popular shape for a kite.

    070KiteJacket700

    071TriangleKite700

    Below are a few more kite designs from pictures taken here and there.

    026TsuruTaco700 027TacoFunabenkei700 UjigawaTaco700

     

Comments (3)

  • classic stuff. We don't realize how nature is anymore. I am happy for the hawk - what to do? this is how they are made.

    very beautiful stuff. Aren't we blessed to be able to remember?

  • @ANT_L - How is your knee doing?  Getting any better?

  • @usalapinhazzer - 

    Awww. you are sweet! Actually, it is one week today. YESTERDAY....i went to the gym, and did the BIKE! i was worried, but it worked. Just one level down, and 20 minutes. so...I did several other strategic machines.

    Swam a few times, increasing blood flow, etc. My girl gave me a couple of wonderful massages. amazing grace.

    I bear weight; I just am careful to step on it straight. I can see the healing. An amazing thing in itself!

    For Sunday school, once I accidentally burned my tummy, rather badly. So I showed them. In order to shoe them the healing. It is powerful. They can realize.

    your concern is healing too! thanks.

Comments are closed.

Post a Comment