August 21, 2007

  • I went to the Dr. with my itchy arm and he said it was not shingles, but bedbugs.  Behold a bedbug.  In Japanese it is a nankin mushi.  Gotta remember that and add another word to my vocabulary.  Then smish the thing.  I got bitten my first weekend in Kagoshima and the bites healed, and the second weekend that I got bitten was worse.  If I am allergic to these things I am really not interested in meeting them again.

     bedbug_main

    The Dr. gave me some anti-allergy medicine.  I tellya, I am gonna set off a smoke bomb at Bachan's before I stay there again and get rid of those critters that seem to find me so delicious. 

    Japan_Plane_Fire

    This is what was on NHK news on television at Gate 4 of Kagoshima Airport yesterday, just what I wanted to see before getting on a plane myself...NOT!  Ok, I asked myself, from which Japanese airport is this scene being broadcasted live?  If it was Tokyo's Haneda Airport I was in trouble, although not as much trouble as the folks on this plane.  The scene was from Naha Airport in Okinawa, not Haneda.  Good thing no one was injured seriously! 

    When I left Haneda for Kagoshima on August 10, we arrived late because the captain said that there were computer problems with the left engine.  Fix it please, by all means, and take your time.  Better to arrive safely than not.  Ok, the computer is fixed and we taxi onto the runway, which immediately closes down because another plane is experiencing bird problems.  The Japanese explanation says that a plane "made contact" with some birds.  An airplane engine does not a good oven make.  The English explanation said that birds were attacking the plane.  Aaaaalright....

Comments (2)

  • I told my wife that I new a blgger friend in Japan when I saw the plane buring yesterday.  Good to know that you wern't on it.  As for the bugs, well, I have gotten them too.  My job takes me on the road a lot.  I notice that the high-end hotels are less likley to have such things sleeping with you.  Yet, since I am a Govt. Contractor, I mostly stay at mid-level places. 

    I like the chimes you have on your web page.  Cheers to you and yours!

  • Poor birds... No escape from a place engine, and it kinda comes out of nowhere sometimes, lol.

    Attacked, though... hmm, I find that to be suspect...

    nankin mushi, nankin mushi, nankin mushi... someday somebody's going to say it and I am going to be ECSTATIC that I know it... like the time where I knew the word for cucumber because it's the only plant I saw in the Japanese book my friend was reading before the house visit, and my host family knew every vegetable name in English BUT cucumber...LOL

    God bless,
    ~Scott

Comments are closed.

Post a Comment