August 22, 2007

  • Bugs you love to hate

    DSC01384Moth

    Now lookie here! Isn't this a pretty insect?  See how the body glows blue?  They were all over the place at Bachan's house.  Could they have something to do with that dead tree in the garden?  Most certainly!!  A friendly neighbor informed me that these buggies go through four life cycles a year, and during the caterpillar stage they eat entire trees.  They were pretty unpopular in the local Kagoshima neighborhood.

    DSC01391Moth

    Here, you can see it better.

    DSC01391MothUp

    Did you really want to see it this close?

    DSC01396Semi

    A local cicada.  If it doesn't look too peppy it could be because it is dead.

    DSC01411Smorking

    This was on a table in Fukuoka.  You are allowed to smork here.

Comments (3)

  • I will pick up the habit of smorking just so that I can go smork there. I don't care if it's addictive, either. X-D

    I love Japanese signs translated into English. One of my favorites was "Baby Lounge, 3-5 o-clock." Clearly a lounge for babies for go spend some time getting to know each other 2 hours a day.

    Did you pick up that cicada? You're a brave woman, haha! Are you the one who squishes all the spiders and insects in your house?

    God bless,
    ~Scott

  • Mez no, I don't squeesh them.  If possible I catch them and release them in the wild.  If the spiders can find anything to eat inside, more power to them.  I used to play with bugs when I was small, so they don't bother me for the most part.  I can hold frogs, toads and snakes, too.  Roaches, sparrow wasps and draculistic insects I can do without.  I do squish mosquitoes and would squish abus if I could catch them.  I dunno what abu is in English.  Maybe a horsefly.  They look really nasty.  Maybe my rule is if they don't bother me I don't bother them.

Comments are closed.

Post a Comment