September 30, 2007

  • Hot springs on Friday was very nice.  Buddy suggested that we get a good Korean scrubdown and called the ladies in for the task.  They must have scrubbed off a pound of grime - ew - never been that clean in my life!  The entire scenario reminded me of the ancient Roman baths in "I, Claudius."

    Heading for Fukuoka on Friday, so I gotta get my moving act together.  Meanwhile, here are a few more pictures from my last trip down there.

    DSC01585Weaver

    Here is a fellow weaving on a loom.  The circulating roll of punched cards determines which threads are lifted up to create the design of the material.

    DSC01587Teruteru

    See the little ghost hanging from the eaves?  It isn't for Halloween...  Scott, have you seen these?

    DSC01588Wall

    I thought this wall was interesting.  It is made of various and sundry rocks and old roof tiles.

Comments (2)

  • I haven't seen them before, but I'd imagine it has something to do with rituals and spirits. Either family or otherwise, or inviting spirits there or symbolizing them... I could guess all day but in the end the answer is a resounding "I have no idea," lol.

    Great pictures.

    Did you find all 16 of the books?

    God bless,
    ~Scott

  • Yes, okagesama de. (Thanks to you.)  I found all 16 books when I knew what to look for.  I might never have found Kings without the hint.

    This little ghost is not a ghost, but a teru-teru bouzu.  People hang them up in hopes that they will bring good weather for some upcoming event, like undoukai (school sports festival).  There is a song that goes like this:  "Teru teru bouzu, teru bouzu, ashita tenki ni shite o-kure."  I don't remember the rest of the song, but it runs like "if you don't make the weather nice tomorrow I will cut your head off with a pair of scissors."  Ouch!!

Comments are closed.

Post a Comment