July 31, 2008

  • Gonna start working on John MacArthur Luke 2 today.

    Nothing too exciting going on today, not that I am complaining!  I found a dentist downtown with a fancy office and will go today and see if the small filling that I lost can just be slapped back in or whether it will have to be replaced.  I think the filling is chipped on one side, so replacement will probably be the wisest choice.  If this dentist does a good job I will consider letting him take care of another tooth that needs attention but not today.  Picking a good dentist is not easy.  They should be old enough to have experience but young enough to keep up with the latest developments.  I am glad that I learned the LaMaze method of breathing.  I always use it at the dentist's office.  I am not looking forward to biking in the heat, but one must do what one must do. 

    Edit:  NOW I AM COMPLAINING!!!  Back from the dentist's office alive after 2 annahalf hours in "the chair."  Just slap the filling back in there... HAR-DEE-HAR!!  Just replace it...  NOT!!  How about a root canal after having my jaw become a pincushion because the anesthetic was not working on the poor little nerve that was doing its best to survive!  I lost count of how many shots of anesthetic I got.  I didn't wanna know anymore.  The doc shot a couple directly into the exposed nerve and must have removed it by hand, 'cause the drill routine was not going well.  One begins to have really evil thoughts, like how loud would this guy yell if I bit his finger...  LaMaze??  Actually having kids was easier.  My son only took two hours from the beginning of labor to delivery.  I did enough LaMaze to deliver ten or so kids.  Masui mo mazui!!!  (The anesthetic tasted awful - it sounds cooler in Japanese.)  At least I didn't have to gag on x-ray slides.  Now if this tooth settles down nice I get to keep it and get itr crowned.  Thanks a ..(pl).. lot.  "Amazing Grace" was coming in over the office music system.  Yes, Jesus, come quickly, take me now!  I have to go back on Monday, Lord willing.  I am not, but there is not much I can do about it.  The only thing worse than going to the dentist is not going to the dentist.  At least I didn't have time to go to the doll store.

    My downtown Barbie sales box is not doing too well, as in zero sales, so I will probably stop by to lower prices.  I have to pay $20 a month to rent the box, so it would be nice if this project could support itself.  One of the items for sale is a rerooted vintage Color Magic Barbie on a Bend Leg body in lovely condition.  The body alone is worth $200.  The stuff might move faster on eBay.  While I am there I will seriously attempt not to get the Blythe doll that I have been resisting for a couple of months.  I will also attempt not to get the Barbie dress pattern book I saw on the store rack yesterday.  Wish me luck. 

    My new sewing machine had not been working well, as in the needle hit the presser foot when I did anything but straight sewing, so I took it back to the store and they gave me a different one that works.  Very nice of them.

    Workman just arrived to put a grill over one of our windows.  This little tin can house had a naked window on the street side that I wanted to leave open but couldn't because it was extremely vulnerable to anyone who wanted to climb in and help themselves to anything in the room.  If I close off the livingroom to keep the "conditioned air" where we are I would not even hear if anyone came in.  The grill should have been over the window in the first place, as far as I am concerned, but I don't think that anyone was actually living in this house before us because it was being used as an office for the caretaker of the building complex next door.  I had hubby ask at work for a window grill and they were kind enough to oblige.

Comments (10)

  • Isn't that funny....when I learned LaMaze I use it for many things, especially at the dentist office. I swear by it.

  • @LifeNeedsProtection - You mean I am not not the only one to use LaMaze at the dentist's?  Just 60 puffs and the whole thing will be over until the drill starts turning again for the next 60.  It is all done quietly of course.  I told one dentist what I was doing and he didn't laugh with me.  Dummy.

  • @usalapinhazzer - 

    Even when I go the gyno office...I have to relax and it works. Even during mammograms.

  • I hate going to the dentist!

  • @icepearlz - Only masochists like going to the dentist.  Haha!  I always pick a dentist who also specializes in children's dentistry because he isn't gonna hurt, I hope.  Yep, I look for a beeeeeg picture of Mickey Mouse on the outside of the office!!

  • So sorry to hear about your pain!! I swear I think root canals ARE worse than having a baby. My dentist growing up was a sadist. He didn't even believe in Novocaine. Can you imagine a little kid sitting in the dentist chair ....strapped in and told to bear it? **Shudder**

    I'll pray for your mouth today!

  • Yikes! You're going back on Monday?!! Did you really have a root canal while there? I think that you would definitely get good prices on eBay for vintage Barbie stuff! I cannot imagine having an open window in the city--especially there--too many ninjas! ;)

  • @SoOffBase - Yep, this is only a temporary filling in a tooth that will eventually be crowned.  I am suuuuuuch a baby about tooth pain, and was definitely not expecting a root canal here.  All of the sales cubicles have clear, plastic ninja-proof doors on them, so it's ok.  I can't even get in without proper identification.

  • You live in a sales cubicle??? I think we are confusing each other. I meant your apartment with the grill. =) I am a baby about tooth pain, too! I dodged a root canal about a year ago, and thankfully I have not had any pain since. The dentist tapped my filling on my molar and it had pain, so I was supposed to have a root canal. Just was not up to handling that and traveling to my new job at the time--too exhausting! Now, I could go but I will wait until some day when I feel pain again. I am a wimp, too!

  • @SoOffBase - No, no, my Barbies live in the sales cubicle, and I am totally pleased with the grill that will strain out any ninjas attempting entry into the back room. 

Comments are closed.

Post a Comment