March 26, 2009

  • For the birds - brought to you by Herr Compukermann!

    Can anyone name that tune? 

    The parrot is doing a rendition of the above - The Queen of the Night's second aria from Mozart's "Magic Flute."  This woman is throwing a really psycho hissy fit and telling her daughter to commit murder or be disowned.  Performed by scary Diana Daurau!  Have a look at the first aria below, too while you are at it.  This QoN is soooo obviously manipulative as she tells the Prince Tamino that she thinks it is a fantastic idea that he go and save her daughter from the nasty Zorastro.

    Actually, I like Papageno best.

    Here he is, about to hang himself (I'll count to three, somebody stop me!) because he thinks he has lost Papagena forever, but the boys remind him to call her with his magic bells.  Ah, it all brings a tear to my eye!  I would have loved to see Dietrich Fischer-Diskau performing Papageno, but all we have is a CD.