October 3, 2009

  • Berimbao street concert!

    Today's Go Somewhere was downtown Fukuoka.  My right shoulder is a bit painful (as in I can't hold the thing) from too much guitar practice and I thought a strap might help things, so I went back to IMS (pronounced EEMZ) and Shimamura Music to get a strap and pick up a cheap tuning fork while I was at it.  The binding of my Bible also is vertically split in several places so I picked up another at Junkudo, Fukuoka's biggest book store.  It is not the nicest that I have ever owned, but sufficient for carrying around when I want to.

    CIMG2250 800

    They were having a cardboard figure display.  Miniature versions are on sale at some stores in the IMS mall.

     CIMG2255 800

    Now this was a rare treat!  This fellow is practicing his berimbao in a park.  It is a traditional Brazilian instrument that I never thought I would see played live.

    CIMG2255BirimbaoUp800

    Here is a close up.  The player uses a stone as a bridge for the single string that he hits with a stick.  He also holds a basket-maracas in his other hand.  I also shot a bit of video.  Hope he didn't mind, but the performance was too good to leave unrecorded.

Post a Comment